Whole30 Day 17: All Hail the Plantain Chip!

I’m not a huge snacker when the sun is up, I’m really not. I can generally go through the entire workday with only having a piece of fruit or a beautiful cut-up red bell pepper in between meals. When snacking gets me is at night.

“Hi, I’m Caroline, and I’m a night snacker.”

“Hi Caroline.”

Anyway, I’m also not generally a “sweet” snacker; and am much more susceptible to savory treats. As those of you who are doing it well know, Whole30 presents some challenges for us savory snackers. What is there, really? Nuts, olives….um, nuts?

Nuts and olives, yes, but also PLANTAIN CHIPS.

Have you had plantain chips? No? DUDE. You have to try them. Plantains are a starchy cousin to the banana, and a staple in lots of South American cuisine. They’re not appetizing raw, but when cooked (well, fried), they are delicious. And plantain chips are, without a doubt, my Whole30 go-to when I’m feeling snacky and nuts and olives won’t do.

If you haven’t seen plantain chips around, the most commercially available place I’ve seen them is Trader Joe’s, and I believe they run about $1.99 a bag. But, I’ve also had great luck finding them at local Asian or Latino markets.

The challenge with plantain chips, though, as with any other snack food is…um…portion control. Most of the time, I’m pretty good at that but last night I MAY have eaten an entire bag (450 calories’ worth…ouch) after dinner. Yeah, not one of my finer moments in impulse control, but hey, we’ve all been there.

So, here was yesterday’s food:

What did I eat?

Breakfast

  • Big piece of savory breakfast casserole
  • Black coffee

Morning snack

  • Grapes

Lunch

  • Last of the leftover carnitas from Sunday (still delish, BTW)

Afternoon snack

  • Black coffee
  • Apple slices dipped in almond butter…OMG, OMG, OMG, OMG.

Dinner

  • Shrimp salad: Paprika and cumin-coated Blue Diamond shimp served over spinach with chopped avocado. (This is a pre-Whole30 fave that’s Whole30 compliant without us even trying! Woot!)
  • Whole, three-serving bag of delicious plantain chips

How did I feel?

Great, until I gorged on plantain chips. Then guilty. Very, very guilty. *sigh* But also, kinda happy because they were delicious. All hail the plantain chip!!!

3 thoughts on “Whole30 Day 17: All Hail the Plantain Chip!

  1. Pingback: Whole30 Day 19: A New Kind of Trip Planning | wildwend letters

Leave a Reply

