Whole30 Day 2: A Restless Hungerlust

So, Day 2 was a little different. Not hard, but not as easy as Day 1. I’m not surprised — I figured it’d happen. I wasn’t exactly craving anything, but I felt somehow hungrier. Even with eating a good amount of food, it just felt like there was something…lacking. I was kind of fidgety and restless all day long. There was something about it that vaguely reminded me of late pregnancy, except without the feeling like a beached whale part. One thing that’s taking some getting used to is just all the very deliberate thought and prep work that’s required just to put three square meals into me and my husband (he’s doing the program, too) every day. I guess I never realized how much I relied on little staples like beans or grains or butter or milk or cheese to make dinner. It’s definitely taking some concerted effort. I’m sure we’ll be old-hat at it before too long, though.

I did realize what could be a MAJOR pitfall for me if I don’t pay attention: feeding my daughter. I hadn’t even realized it, but, up until this point, I’ve been the “clean-up crew,” licking the unwanted baked beans off the spoon before sticking it into the Greek yogurt, picking off the bit of cheese curd that falls onto the tablecloth. Tsk-tsk. Can’t do THAT anymore! Ron has done most of the feeding over the last couple days so I can cook, but I had to stop myself a couple times last night just preparing her smorgasbord. Will have to be super-duper careful. Also, I’m now wondering how many extra calories I’ve been consuming per day just doing that? Horrifying…

Anyway, on to the summary of Day 2:

What did I eat?

Breakfast

  • Frittata with happy chicken eggs, onions, spaghetti squash, dill pickles, tomatoes, cajun smoked salmon and fresh dill.
  • Handful of mixed berries – blackberries, raspberries, blueberries
  • Black coffee

Morning snack

  • Leftover pickling cucumbers — I love cukes as it is, but these are so crispy and sweet!

Lunch

  • Baked chicken breast with lots of cracked black pepper
  • Handful of hard boiled egg slices from the salad bar
  • Curried cauliflower mash with coconut, pear and celery
  • Green beans with olive oil, balsamic vinegar & spices

Afternoon snack

  • More black coffee
  • Organic Bartlett pear

Dinner

  • “Spaghetti” with spaghetti squash and homemade meat sauce with a pound of ground Phil, roasted garden/CSA tomatoes, mini sweet peppers, onions, garlic, celery and carrots, canned organic crushed tomatoes & tomato paste (So. Freaking. Delicious…people, MAKE YO OWN SAUCE!). Honestly, roasted spaghetti squash is such a wonder…who even NEEDS pasta?

How did I feel?

Like I said, not as great as Day 1, but not anything resembling bad, either. It definitely felt like my body (probably mostly brain) was entering a period of adjustment. Like I was, at a systemic level, becoming acutely aware of a change in the everyday nutritional routine, and beginning to respond to it at what probably amounts to a multilayered and super complex physiological level. Still no crabbiness or headaches or cursing an inhumane God, though, so I’ve got that going for me. Had another little bit of mild nausea, which, by looking at message boards about Whole30, may actually indicate that I was just hungry and should eat a bit more. Strange that it wouldn’t be the traditional “hunger pangs” or growly tummy, but if it happens again on Day 3, maybe I’ll direct a little more food towards my face.

I’m actually feeling rather pleased so far that I haven’t had any devastating cravings for sugar or “illegal” foods. I don’t know if that indicates that my body’s just taking longer to recognize those aren’t there, or if it’s a sign that I’ve actually been eating fairly well up until this point. I’m hoping for the latter, but figuring it might be a bit of both.

Alright, Day 3. Let’s do this. Whatchoo got?

Leave a Reply

