Whole30 Day 8: A New Kind of Taco Bar

Yesterday, Day 8, was the first experience I’ve had with “making do,” in a Paleo sense, with a meal that was out of my control. And I aced it. I’d been booked for a 12:00-1:30 lunch meeting that I’d forgotten about, and lunch was to be provided. I had my own stuff here at work, but meetings and other work commitments leading right up until that meeting made it so I didn’t have a chance to heat up and bring my own, Whole30-safe, foods. I figured, “Well, I’ll just go see what’s there and, if nothing else, I’ll just wait to eat until after the meeting.” I got downstairs and opened the meeting room door to the smell of taco meat. We had a taco bar. So, I glanced at the spread and, immediately, my brain started ticking off the things I couldn’t have: Tortillas? No. Taco shells? No. Cheese? No. Beans? No. Rice? No.

Ground meat? YES! Lettuce? YES! Fresh pico de gallo? OH GOD, YES! The best part was that the big, beautiful bowl of shredded lettuce — REAL lettuce, not iceberg, BTW — was basically untouched. I guess too much lettuce gets in the way of a proper taco, for most people. I commenced to pile a huge portion of the lettuce onto my plate, cover it with several spoonfuls of ground meat, and several spoonfuls of pico de gallo. And then I put it in my face. It was absolutely delicious. Did I feel deprived? Hell, no!

So, my lessons for yesterday were that 1) it’s critical to be prepared, because sometimes you’re not in control of lunch meeting food offerings, and 2) creativity and innovation can yield a fantastic meal, even when you’re not in control of lunch meeting food offerings!

What did I eat?

Breakfast I (early)

  • Half an avocado
  • 1/2 cup of carrot juice

Breakfast II (later)

  • Three hard-boiled eggs
  • One apple chicken sausage
  • Organic pluot
  • Organic grapes
  • Black coffee

Lunch

  • Whole30-friendly taco salad, with lettuce, ground beef and pico de gallo

Afternoon snack

  • Macadamia nuts
  • Black coffee

Dinner

  • Few plantain chips
  • Chicken curry from Whole30 book (hubby made)

How did I feel?

Yesterday was super busy, and slightly hectic. Usually, a super busy and slightly hectic day might tempt me to dip into Whole30-illegal convenience food. Not yesterday. I didn’t even have the slightest craving for anything bad. For anyone who’s reading this and doubting the value of this nutritional reset, let me tell you, it’s a real thing. I feel fantastic. I feel brighter, cleaner, more alert, healthier…and we’re only eight days in. If I feel this good now, I can’t imagine what Day 30 will be like. I might sprout wings and shoot glitter out of my ears, who knows?

Also, is anyone else on Whole30 almost, and in a really weird way, DREADING starting to introduce non-Whole30 foods back in? They’re starting to feel so foreign to me. Such a strange feeling.

One thought on “Whole30 Day 8: A New Kind of Taco Bar

Leave a Reply

