Whole30 Day 9: Wrapping My Head Around the Science

True confession time: we’re officially through nine days of this experiment, and last night was the first chance I got to sit down and read some more of the “It Starts With Food” book. I know, horror of horrors, right? My husband and I had, unbeknownst to each other, each ordered copies when we were deciding to do this thing, and ended up giving “my” copy to my dad and stepmom when they cruised through town the other weekend. So, we were left with one copy, and Ron’s been reading it this past week. It was no problem, though — I felt like I was getting plenty of information from the website and other sources found through the InterGoogles. I knew where I could find delicious recipes. I knew what I was and wasn’t supposed to eat.

What I didn’t know was WHY.

Man, I got my mind blown last night reading about the science behind this method of eating. The whole concept of satiation vs. satiety and how the makeup of nutritious foods causes your brain to put the brakes on your eating, and how the makeup of non-nutritious, highly processed foods lets you go careening toward the precipice of mindless overeating because OMG, THERE ARE NO BRAKES!

Seriously. It’s scary. And the really disheartening thing is that the people who make these processed foods know EXACTLY WHAT THEY’RE DOING. I’m trying to think of if I personally know any food scientists of this ilk because, if I do, I’m sorely tempted to walk up to them, slap them across the face with a nice bunch of kale and yell, “What are you doing? Stop it! BAD MONKEY!” And then, if they don’t quit, I throw a rutabaga at their head.

But enough with the veggie violence. Here’s how yesterday went…

What did I eat?

Breakfast

Morning Snack

  • Red pepper
  • Three organic carrots, eaten Bugs Bunny style

Lunch

  • One blueberry brat from Jim’s Meat Market
  • Sauerkraut
  • Honeycrisp apple

Afternoon snack

  • Black coffee

Dinner

  • Few cashews
  • Chicken curry from Whole30 book (hubby made)

How did I feel?

I felt great, as usual. Seriously, I’m considering removing this portion of these daily blog posts because, honestly, isn’t it getting boring? Can we agree that I won’t try to fill this space with mindless chatter when basically all I’m trying to get across to you is that, “Hey, this whole thing is awesome and you should totally do it, unless, of course, you’re really into the whole feeling heavy, bloated and slow thing?”

Oh hey, Day 10. You look lovely. Let’s dance.

Leave a Reply

