Whole30 Day 12: Looking Beyond the 30

I’m very pleased to say that I think this whole Paleo-type method of eating is likely to stick in our household. I sidled up to Ron at the stove last night as he was pan frying some Gyro brats from Jim’s Meat Market, and I was sauteeing some spinach in coconut oil. I put my arm around my man and said, “I like this way of eating.”

And he said, “Yeah, I do, too.”

And I said, “I could see eating like this pretty often even after Whole30.”

And he said, “Yep, me too.”

Now, most of you don’t know my husband, but I took that as a pretty ringing endorsement. He’s not the most verbose of dudes. So, even that succinct exchange is promising. It’s a good, good sign. Does that mean we’ll never eat non-Paleo food? No, probably not. But what I think it does mean is that we’ll lean toward eating this way.

And why not? We don’t even really miss the stuff we’ve had to eschew for Whole30. Part of it may be that neither of us were really susceptible to lots of bread/grains or processed foods before this. Part of it may be that we’re both pretty veggie-friendly to begin with. Part of it may be that we have a CSA, so amazing fruit and veggies are always close by. I’m totally sure all of those factors helped. But I think it’s also just that the food you DO eat on Whole30 or, I imagine, any other paleo style of eating is just…good! It’s tasty. It’s satisfying. It’s so incredibly filling. And, it makes you feel like you’re glowing from the inside out.

What’s not to like? Wouldn’t we be insane not to continue that, at least in part?

What did I eat?

Breakfast

  • Three hard-boiled eggs
  • Spicy Italian chicken sausage from Trader Joe’s
  • Raspberries
  • Black coffee

Morning Snack

  • Red pepper

Lunch

  • Bacon-wrapped filet mignon from Jim’s Meat Market with mocha steak rub
  • Steamed green beans
  • Smorgasbord from the salad bar at work (cauliflower, broccoli, grape tomatoes, bell peppers, cucumbers, mushrooms, olives, hard boiled eggs)

Afternoon snack

  • Organic pear
  • Black coffee

Dinner

  • Few plantain chips
  • Gyro brat from Jim’s Meat Market
  • Sauteed spinach in coconut oil, with Penzey’s Ruth Ann’s Muskego Ave Chicken & Fish Seasoning
  • Half a roasted acorn squash with Penzey’s Northwoods Fire

How did I feel?

Encouraged and hopeful.

2 thoughts on “Whole30 Day 12: Looking Beyond the 30

    • Well, it’s a pork brat that apparently has gyro seasoning added to it. đŸ™‚ It didn’t taste particularly “gyro-ey” to either me or my husband, but it was tasty, nonetheless!

Leave a Reply

