Whole30 Day 13: Keep Your Edges Sharp

Happy Sunday! I just sharpened all the knives in my kitchen! Whooo! Might not sound like anything worth blogging about, but — and I’m hoping any cooking enthusiasts who agree will back me up here — it’s a singularly satisfying feeling to put a beautiful, new edge on a faithful Wusthof kitchen implement. And, as I was running the six or so knives through our new Edgeware Pro Edge Elite Electric Knife Sharpener*, I realized how integral a good set of sharp knives actually is to an effort like Whole30. There’s a lot of chopping, y’all. A LOT. And I tried to imagine getting through these 30 days with a set of dull or cheap (or dull AND cheap) knives. It made me shudder. I’m sure it’s doable, but pleasant? Nuh-uh.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: my Wusthof Classic 7″ Santoku knife (as sharp as possible) is probably the most essential tool I have in my kitchen. It’s my absolute favorite, and I would growl ferociously at anyone who tried to take it from me. Why? It makes cooking so much more fun. Don’t believe me? Try the side-by-side test: chop an onion with a sharp knife, and then again with a dull one, AND BASK IN THE EPIPHANY.

Seriously. It’s life-changing. Okay, that might be hyperbolic, but it’s a huge difference.

So, for those of you on this Whole30 journey with me, if you don’t have one good, sharp knife in your collection, please consider this my ringing endorsement to go get one. Treat yourself. You deserve it. Think of all the money you’re saving on not buying bread, beans, dairy and alcohol this month! Yes, the Wusthof Santoku I refer to above will probably set you back around $80-100 (whoa! Hold up! Amazon has it for $69.99!), but it’s a friend you’ll have for life. Good knives are an investment, and they’re one worth making, especially if you’re planning to continue putting a massive hurt on lots of fresh, delicious veggies.

Now, on to yesterday’s news:

What did I eat?

Breakfast

  • Two fried eggs
  • Spicy Italian chicken sausage from Trader Joe’s
  • Black coffee

Lunch

  • Cobb Salad from Manna Cafe, without bleu cheese or any dressing. Delicious! And I wasn’t even tempted by the bread they served with it!
  • Large Americano coffee

Afternoon snack

  • Plantain chips
  • Can of black olives

Dinner

How did I feel?

Amazingly HUNGRY yesterday! I’m not sure what was going on, but I was munchy all…day…long. Thankfully, I was able to stick to Whole30-approved snacks, but it was surprising how hungry I felt. It was rainy and cloudy all day here today, so maybe there was something related to the weather? Or maybe something related to my usual behavior (snacking, nesting) when the weather’s like that? I don’t know. It’s pouring again today; hopefully I got the munchies out of my system.

* We’d hemmed and hawed about getting an electric knife sharpener forever, and finally found this one on Sellout.Woot for $50. Couldn’t pass that up.

Leave a Reply

