Whole30 Day 16: The New Cookbook is Assembled With Pins

I adore cookbooks. I really do. I could buy SO MANY COOKBOOKS. I love paging through a well-designed cookbook with devastatingly beautiful (and mouth-watering) recipes. It’s super inspiring and makes me want to do a cookup the likes of which has heretofore never been seen.

And then the moment passes. And the cookbook goes back on the shelf. And I promptly forget about it.

For better or worse, as much as I love cookbooks, I don’t find myself actually USING them a lot any more. The InterGoogles has made my recipe planning more of an “instant gratification” kind of exercise: I think of what I’m hungry for, ask the Googs to show me the “best chicken curry recipe” or whatever, and then go from there. Once I find one I like, I either print it off (a more rare occurrence these days, since I hate wasting paper), or just bring it up on my iDevice of choice in the kitchen and work directly off the digital copy.

It’s very effective, doesn’t waste space on the shelves and doesn’t use any paper. However, I also don’t get the experience of looking through cookbooks, or annotating, like my parents used to do, favorite recipes with notes, suggestions, or the admonition to “never make this again; it wasn’t very good.” So, the new digital model is great, but it definitely is lacking something.

I’ve found (and I know I’m not the only one), that a fairly effective digital parallel to the vaunted real-world cookbook is Pinterest. If you’re one of the three people in the world who hasn’t heard of Pinterest, it’s an online “pinboard” of stuff you find on the Internet that you like or want to remember. It’s used for wedding planning, baby registry, new house brainstorming, inspirational quote gathering, basically whatever you can think of. And one of its primary uses is recipe collection and sharing.

I’m what you’d call an “on-and-off” Pinterest user. I go in spurts. Much like drunk iTuning (you know, when you wake up the next morning after a bottle of wine and realize you spent $40 on a new selection of music including sentimental favorites from the 80s?), my Pinteresting seems to blow hot and heavy for short periods of time, and then I forget about it. But, after starting Whole30 and realizing I needed a good place to collect all these recipes that people were recommending to me, I snuggled up to Pinterest again, and created myself a Whole30 recipe pinboard. It’s a work in progress, but has a good start, if you’d like to check it out. And, if you have any FAVORITE recipes for Whole30 that I really need to try, shout them out in the comments and I’ll go find ’em and pin ’em!

So, here was yesterday’s food:

What did I eat?

Breakfast

  • Big piece of savory breakfast casserole
  • Black coffee

Morning snack

  • Few macadamias

Lunch

  • Leftover chicken curry
  • Homemade applesauce

Afternoon snack

  • Black coffee
  • Few grapes (with seeds, boo)

Dinner

  • Bacon-wrapped filet with mocha steak rub
  • Sauteed spinach
  • Roasted tomato soup

How did I feel?

Like I could succumb to a pinning frenzy at any moment. Hold me down.

2 thoughts on “Whole30 Day 16: The New Cookbook is Assembled With Pins

  1. I totally agree about cookbooks. I also seem to find one that looks great at the bookstore..and probably is but somehow I always end up returning to the internet to find recipes. Have you been to foodee.com? They have a Whole30 dedicated section and will organize the ingredients you need to buy at the store. I am in love with it.

    • Hi there! I had seen Foodee before in my searches, but hadn’t thought to bookmark it at the time. Thanks for the reminder. It’s like a Pinterest board itself, isn’t it? Just totally dedicated to Whole30 recipes? Super useful!

Leave a Reply

