Whole30 Day 19: A New Kind of Trip Planning

I am flying to Las Vegas on Sunday. That’s right, Vegas. The proverbial den of sin and excess (and, for my purposes, the proverbial den of the yearly symposium for my company’s content management system of choice). It will be my first trip there, and I am feeling a slight trepidation at the prospect of Vegas and Whole30. Why? I dunno. Let’s look at the facts here:

FACT: Vegas without alcohol is entirely doable. I’m sure of it. It may be inherently WRONG on several levels, but I believe it’s doable. Also, Vegas without alcohol makes one less prone to the “what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas” thing. Not that I’m likely to have a Vegas trip like that, anyways, but still.

FACT: There are whole foods in Vegas. I’m sure of it. I think where I may get into trouble is having to place control of my adherence to Whole30 in the hands of an underpaid server who’s having a bad day because the blowhard douchebag at Table 4 keeps sending back his food. Will she see how earnestly I need my steak to not be cooked in any way, shape or form with butter?

FACT: There’s room service where we’re staying. I’m sure of it. If need be, I have every confidence I can order down for a plain baked chicken breast and some steamed veggies. And, if I can’t, I can always write a sternly worded letter to someone.

FACT: It’s only four days. I’m sure of it. Even if I end up having some less-than-fulfilling meals, I will come through the other side unscathed.

Given all those facts, though, I decided to try to do some minimal preparation and bring along some snack foods, at least. So, yesterday, my daughter and I, after her 15-month doctor appointment where she charmed the pants off everyone (literally, nobody had pants…it was weird) and recovered from the FOUR immunization needle sticks with relative aplomb, went to Trader Joe’s for some “trip planning.” Have I ever mentioned how much I love Trader Joe’s? No? I really should tell you about it sometime. My adoration is fervent. Here’s what I brought home this time:

  • Bag of organic roasted and lightly salted cashews
  • Three bags of plantain chips (you know I love ’em)
  • Dried apple rings
  • Dried pineapple rings
  • Dried mango strips
  • Five strips of “fruit jerky”

So Vegas, I’m on my way. Now to find room for all my snacks in my suitcase…

And, here’s yesterday:

What did I eat?

Breakfast

  • Hamburger
  • Avocado
  • Apple with some almond butter
  • Black coffee

Lunch

  • Hamburger (yes, another one — we were running short on food options)
  • Leftover pan-sauteed carrots

Dinner

  • Pork tenderloin medallions
  • Steamed broccoli and carrots
  • “Veggie chips” from Trader Joe’s (post-dinner snack while we were catching up on the last three eps of Sons of Anarchy…I guess we were both still hungry)

How did I feel?

Like a Boy Scout, in the “trying to be prepared” sense (and pretty much only in that sense).

Leave a Reply

