Whole30 Day 4: Groove, I Am In You!

Day 4, you were groovy. Which is to say, cruising into Day 5, I feel like I’m getting into a groove with this whole Whole30 experiment. Meal prep continues to be an exercise in more intricate planning than I’m used to, but it’s not burdensome. This week has probably been artificially onerous because I’ve been doing all the cooking — next week, Ron will be picking some of it up, so I’ll get some evenings to just rest. I’m also planning to do a lot more prep this weekend, making this breakfast casserole for next week’s breakfasts, a big batch of this universally lauded chocolate chili, and probably a pork shoulder, left in the crockpot until it falls apart if you look at it crossways, to freeze for future use. There are actually a lot of really tasty sounding recipes out there for Whole30; I’ve started a Pinterest board of the ones that look good to me, so I don’t lose track of them. Yay for using the tools at my disposal! Also, it makes me wonder: do people actually use cookbooks anymore? I can’t remember the last time I cooked with a book open in front of me…now it’s always measuring and chopping by the light of my iPhone or iPad. I’m not saying that’s better, or that I don’t see value in actual cookbooks, I’m just noticing. Or maybe I’m rambling. It’s true, I haven’t had my breakfast yet, so I may be in Loopyland and not even realize it.

Perhaps I should get on with the summary of yesterday’s menu and get myself on the breakfast train. Here goes:

What did I eat?

Breakfast

  • Two hard-boiled eggs
  • Spring mix salad with olive oil, balsamic vinegar and avocado slices
  • Most of an overripe organic Bartlett pear
  • Black coffee

Lunch

  • Turkey burger with Penzey’s Tsardust Memories seasoning, covered in some of my homemade tomato sauce.
  • Half a baked sweet potato, plain (had forgotten how delicious sweet potatoes are)

Afternoon snack

  • More black coffee
  • Handful of cashews

Dinner

  • Few (maybe 5-10 total) cashews before dinner
  • Big bowl of leftover “spaghetti” from two nights ago. We finished it up; SO GOOD.

How did I feel?

Super-duper, in general! Trying to think of anything notable…I guess I had a few sugar pangs when my coworkers were tossing Halloween candy to each other across our cube walls, but nothing I couldn’t handle. My body’s starting to feel “different,” too. Maybe a bit leaner/tighter? And my jeans are feeling a bit looser, too. I know we’re not supposed to weigh ourselves during this 30-day period, but it’s a morning habit and I haven’t been able to help myself. It’s good news, though; I am down about four pounds already. Yes, it’s mostly water, but it’s also SWEET, SWEET MOTIVATION. I love seeing that number drop.

Today’s Day 5, a Friday. Tonight should be…interesting. Normally, in our house, Fridays are either “Pizza Night in America” with a delicious pie from Cafe La Bellitalia, Glass Nickel or Salvatore’s Tomato Pies, or we get delicious pita sandwiches from bad-ass Banzo. Tonight, we’re planning on mustardy baked pork tenderloin and broccoli. I wonder if we’ll miss the take-out?

Stay tuned for the next update — now, onto Day 5! I’ve got two hard-boiled eggs calling my name…

Leave a comment